The Australian Medical Council is an organisation whose work impacts across the lands of Australia and New Zealand.

The Australian Medical Council acknowledges the Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Peoples as the original Australians and the Māori People as the tangata whenua (Indigenous) Peoples of Aotearoa (New Zealand). We recognise them as the traditional custodians of knowledge for these lands.

We pay our respects to them and to their Elders, both past, present and emerging, and we recognise their enduring connection to the lands we live and work on, and honour their ongoing connection to those lands, its waters and sky.

Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.

Learn more

Introduction to AMC Assessments

The Standard pathway is for international medical graduates (IMGs) seeking general registration as a medical practitioner in Australia. It involves completion of the AMC CAT MCQ examination, and the AMC Clinical Examination or the AMC Workplace based assessment program.

AMC assessments are set at the level of attainment of medical knowledge, clinical skills and attitudes required of newly qualified graduates of Australian medical schools who are about to begin intern training. 

The following assessment options are available and must be passed to obtain an AMC certificate.

1. AMC CAT MCQ Examination

The  AMC CAT MCQ Examination  tests knowledge of the principles and practice of medicine in the fields of general practice, internal medicine, paediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, and obstetrics and gynaecology. 


2. AMC Clinical Examination 

The  AMC Clinical Examination  assesses clinical skills in medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynaecology, paediatrics and psychiatry. It also assesses ability to communicate with patients, their families and other health workers. 


AMC Workplace based assessment 

The  AMC Workplace based assessment – before applying for a WBA program directly to a WBA provider, you must have passed the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and granted registration by the Medical Board of Australia in order to be employed in an approved clinical position for WBA. 

The Standard pathway is for IMGs who are not eligible for the Competent Authority pathway or the Specialist pathways.

Click through the following questionnaire to determine AMC assessment steps:

Have you established your AMC portfolio?

Note: if you have previously applied and your examination and assessment status in your AMC candidate account is ‘Eligible’ you are not required to establish a new AMC portfolio, unless you need to add eligible specialist/postgraduate qualification(s) for verification and then assessment by the relevant specialist college(s)

Was this information helpful?