The Australian Medical Council is an organisation whose work impacts across the lands of Australia and New Zealand.

The Australian Medical Council acknowledges the Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Peoples as the original Australians and the Māori People as the tangata whenua (Indigenous) Peoples of Aotearoa (New Zealand). We recognise them as the traditional custodians of knowledge for these lands.

We pay our respects to them and to their Elders, both past, present and emerging, and we recognise their enduring connection to the lands we live and work on, and honour their ongoing connection to those lands, its waters and sky.

Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.

Learn more

List of Accredited Prevocational Training Accreditation Authorities

The following authorities are approved by the AMC and the Medical Board of Australia to accredit intern training programs in their respective state or territory.


Postgraduate medical council Approval expiry date
South Australian Medical Education and Training Health Advisory Council
31 March 2028
Canberra Region Medical Education Council (CRMEC) 31 March 2025
Postgraduate Medical Education Council of Tasmania (PMCT) 31 March 2027
Postgraduate Medical Council of Victoria (PMCV) 31 March 2024
Postgraduate Medical Council of Western Australia (PMCWA) 31 March 2029
Queensland Department of Health –
Prevocational Medical Accreditation Queensland (Qld Health PMAQ)
31 March 2025
Northern Territory Prevocational Medical Assurance Services (NT PMAS) 31 March 2025
Health Education and Training Institute (NSW HETI) 31 March 2026
Was this information helpful?