The Australian Medical Council is an organisation whose work impacts across the lands of Australia and New Zealand.

The Australian Medical Council acknowledges the Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Peoples as the original Australians and the Māori People as the tangata whenua (Indigenous) Peoples of Aotearoa (New Zealand). We recognise them as the traditional custodians of knowledge for these lands.

We pay our respects to them and to their Elders, both past, present and emerging, and we recognise their enduring connection to the lands we live and work on, and honour their ongoing connection to those lands, its waters and sky.

Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.

Learn more

Accreditation overview

Accreditation of medical programs is essential to ensure they provide the knowledge, skills and professional attributes necessary to practise the profession in Australia. Find out about how the AMC develops the standards for medical education and training and undertakes the accreditation and monitoring of education providers.

Medical Schools Overview

Medical schools are education providers that offer primary medical programs. Primary medical programs are those that lead to a qualification enabling general registration as a medical practitioner. Find out about the process of accreditation for primary programs and the medical schools offering certified programs.

Prevocational Training Accreditation Authorities Overview

Prevocational training is the phase of medical education completed after gaining basic medical qualifications, such as internships. The AMC sets standards for elements of prevocational education of doctors in their first postgraduate year (PGY1) and second postgraduate year (PGY2). Find out about the process of accreditation for prevocational training accreditation authorities and the National Framework for Prevocational Medical Training.

Specialist Medical Colleges Overview

Specialist medical colleges are education providers that offer specialist medical training programs. Specialist medical training programs are those that lead to a qualification enabling specialist registration as a medical practitioner.

Pre-employment Structured Clinical Interviews

The Pre-employment Structured Clinical Interview (PESCI) is an objective assessment of the clinical experience, knowledge, skills and attributes of an International Medical Graduate. The PESCI is used to determine whether a graduate is suitable to practise in a specific position for which they are seeking registration.

Workplace based assessment

The Workplace based assessment (WBA) pathway is an alternative to the AMC clinical exam component of the assessment pathway for International Medical Graduates. A WBA program is a structured program (generally with a duration of 12 months, but no less than six months) of on-the-job assessment. The AMC develops standards for WBA programs and certifies providers to conduct workplace-based assessment programs against the accreditation standards.

Overview of CPD Homes

The Medical Board of Australia sets minimum requirements for Continuing Professional Development (CPD) for medical practitioners. CPD Homes are the educational providers that deliver CPD programs and make sure doctors registered in their home meet their minimum CPD requirements. Accredited CPD Homes also audit and report CPD compliance to the Medical Board.


The Medical Board of Australia can ‘endorse’ the registration of suitably qualified practitioners. An endorsement of registration recognises that a person has additional qualifications and expertise in an approved area of practice. The AMC has standard policies and procedures for accreditation of programs of study leading to endorsement of registration of medical practitioners for acupuncture and for cosmetic surgery.