The Australian Medical Council is an organisation whose work impacts across the lands of Australia and New Zealand.

The Australian Medical Council acknowledges the Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Peoples as the original Australians and the Māori People as the tangata whenua (Indigenous) Peoples of Aotearoa (New Zealand). We recognise them as the traditional custodians of knowledge for these lands.

We pay our respects to them and to their Elders, both past, present and emerging, and we recognise their enduring connection to the lands we live and work on, and honour their ongoing connection to those lands, its waters and sky.

Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.

Learn more

King’s Birthday Honours List 2023

14 June, 2023

Congratulations to all of those recognised in this year’s King’s Birthday 2023 Honours List. We particularly acknowledge the following people who have made important contributions to the work of the AMC.

AO – Officer in the General Division

    • Dr Kerry Breen AM (VIC)

For distinguished service to the advancement of ethical medical research, to the development of doctors’ health programs, and as an author.


    • Professor David Ellwood (QLD)

For distinguished service to medicine as an obstetrician and gynaecologist, to research and tertiary education, and to professional associations.


    • Professor Michael Kidd AM (NSW)

For distinguished service in medical administration and community health, to primary care leadership, and to tertiary education.


AM – Member in the General Division

    • Emeritus Professor Phillip Boyce (NSW), Member of the Clinical Appeals Panel, Current Senior Examiner

For significant service to psychiatric research and education.


    • Dr Genevieve Goulding (QLD), ANZCA Past President

For significant service to anaesthesiology through professional and clinical roles.


    • Dr David Hughes (ACT), ACSEP Past President

For significant service to sports medicine as an administrator and elite athlete physician.


    • Professor Danielle Mazza (VIC), Former Senior Examiner

For significant service to medicine and to medical research, particularly to women’s health.


    • Clinical Associate Professor Magdalena Simonis (VIC), Member, Cosmetic Surgery Accreditation Standards & Procedures TAG

For significant service to medicine through a range of roles, and to women’s health.


    • Dr Stephen Steigrad (NSW), Former Senior Examiner

For significant service to medicine particularly in a range of national and international organisations.


    • Dr Duncan Topliss (VIC), Former Examiner

For significant service to endocrinology, and to professional organisations.


    • Professor Simon Willcock (NSW), Former Examiner & PMEC Representative on Council

For significant service to primary health care, and to tertiary education.


    • Ms Amanda Wilson (NSW), Council member

For significant service to the community, and to the media and communications sector.