

COMMUNIQUE

29 November 2022

Australian Medical Council appoints new President, **Deputy President and Directors**

The Australian Medical Council is pleased to announce the election of Professor Geoff McColl as President of the AMC and Dr Bruce Mugford as Deputy President. The appointments took place at the AMC's Annual General Meeting held on 25 November 2022.

Professor McColl steps into the role following two years as Deputy President and six years as a Director of the AMC as Chair of the Medical School Accreditation Committee.

In taking on the role of President, he said he was pleased to continue serving an organisation with such a critical role and which he held in very high regard.

"I believe strongly in the purpose of the AMC which is to ensure that standards of education, training and assessment of the medical profession promote and protect the health of the Australian community. This purpose is strongly underpinned by the AMC's Strategic Plan which was revised this year to reflect progress since its inception in 2018 and changes in the AMC's operating environment.

"I am looking forward to the fruition of much of the AMC's work, in particular the new Medical School Accreditation Standards which have been strengthened through direct input from our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander colleagues, implementation of our Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Strategy, accreditation of Continuing Professional Development Homes, and implementation of the National Framework for Prevocational (PGY1 and PGY2) Medical Training.

"The AMC has navigated the challenges and opportunities of the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic with agility and compassion. I look forward to leading the AMC to examine and reflect on what we have learned during this time in the context of a health system under stress and an appetite for health workforce reform."

Professor McColl said he looked forward to working with Dr Bruce Mugford who was elected Deputy President. Dr Mugford has served as an AMC Member for eight years and as a Council-elected Director since 2018.

Dr Mugford said his knowledge, skills and experience in General Practice and primary care are critical, now more than ever, to the AMC.

"Working as an independent rural generalist and urban general practitioner I am able to provide practical clinical perspectives to discussions surrounding primary care across a range of settings including regional, rural and remote primary care.

"As we work with the profession and all stakeholders to shape, and respond to, the evolving nature of Australia's medical workforce it is vital that we keep the health needs of the Australian people at the forefront of our planning."

AMC Council also elected three Members to serve as Directors for a two-year term.

- Dr Tammy Kimpton
- Professor Elizabeth Rushbrook
- Mr Tom Symonds

Enquiries: Philip Pigou, CEO

M 0439 844 447

philip.pigou@amc.org.au

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) is an independent national standards body for medical education. Its purpose is to ensure that standards of education, training and assessment of the medical profession promote and protect the health of the Australian community. It is currently appointed under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 as the external accreditation authority for medicine. In this capacity it is responsible for setting standards for medical education and training at medical school, intern and specialist medical training stages. It accredits programs and providers in all these stages of basic medical education (medical courses), intern training and specialist medical education and training leading to registration.

Professor Geoff McColl President, AMC



Professor McColl has an extensive and broad history with the AMC, having held various roles over the past 20 years:

- Member, Multiple Choice Question Writing Group (2003)
- Member, Expert Advisory Panel on Assessment (2010-2015)
- Member, Benchmarking Working Group (2011)
- Member, National Test Centre, Research Group (2014-2018)
- Accreditation Team Member, University of Western Australia (2012)
- Accreditation Team Chair, University of Newcastle / University of New England Medical School (2014 and 2016)
- Chair, Working Party on Western Pacific Accreditation Relationships (2020)
- Chair, Medical School Accreditation Committee (2016-2022)
- Member, Medical School Accreditation Committee (2012-2015)

Professor McColl's current positions include:

- Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Queensland
- Director, UQ Health Care
- Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians
- Honorary Fellow of the Royal Australian College of Medical Administrators
- Member, Advisory Committee on Medicines, Therapeutic Goods Administration
- Honorary rheumatologist, MetroNorth Hospital and Health Service

Dr Bruce Mugford Deputy President, AMC



Dr Mugford has been a Member (MBA Practitioner category) of the AMC since 2014 and an AMC Director (Council-elected) since 2018. In that time he has served as the AMC representative on the National Specialist IMG Committee, a Member of the MBA CPD Working group (2018), and served on the AMC Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee and Investment Policy Advisory Group.

Dr Mugford has 10 years of regulatory experience on the SA Medical Board and AHPRA in Registration and Notification subcommittees and 15 years of involvement in General Practice training. His current positions include:

- General Practitioner and Rural Generalist
- Practitioner member Medical Board of South Australia
- Member, MBSA Notifications Committee
- Member, MBSA Medical Registration Committee
- Director Medical Indemnity Protection Society (MIPS)
- Associate, HindmarshGP
- Specialist Adviser, Therapeutic Goods Administration
- SAMET Hospital Accreditation Survey

AMC Directors:

President elected by Council	Professor Geoff McColl
Deputy President elected by Council	Dr Bruce Mugford
Directors elected by Council	Dr Tammy Kimpton
	Dr Elizabeth Rushbrook
	Mr Tom Symonds
Chairs of AMC Standing Committees	Professor Robyn Langham AM
	Specialist Education Accreditation Committee
	Professor Eleanor Milligan
	Medical School Accreditation Committee
	Professor Shaun Ewen
	Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Committee
	Emeritus Professor David Prideaux
	Assessment Committee
	Associate Professor Andrew Singer AM
	Prevocational Standards Accreditation Committee