The Australian Medical Council welcomes new Office Bearers and Directors

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) Annual General Meeting in Sydney on 20 November has marked the appointment of a new President and Deputy President of the AMC. Associate Professor Jillian Sewell AM was welcomed as the new AMC President and Professor David Ellwood as the new Deputy President.

Associate Professor Sewell is a principal paediatric specialist and Deputy Director of the Centre for Community Child Health at the Royal Children’s Hospital, Associate Professor in the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Melbourne, and a leader in paediatric education. Professor Sewell has been a Director and member of Council since 2009. She is the former Chair of the committee responsible for accreditation of specialist medical programs, the AMC Specialist Education Accreditation Committee, and now chairs the AMC Recognition of Medical Specialties Advisory Committee.

Professor Ellwood is Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Griffith University School of Medicine and Director of Maternal–Foetal Medicine at Gold Coast University Hospital. Professor Ellwood also chairs the AMC Medical School Accreditation Committee.

Download the full media release (PDF 259KB)