Pain Medicine

In November 2005, the Minister for Health and Ageing, The Hon Tony Abbott MHR, informed the Australian Medical Council that he considered a case had been made for pain medicine to be recognised as a medical specialty.

A copy of the assessment report is available from the AMC secretariat on request.

In November 2005, the AMC granted accreditation to pain medicine education and training program overseen by the Faculty of Pain Medicine, the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.