## **AMC** welcomes new Director and Members

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) held its 2017 Annual General Meeting on Friday 24 November in Melbourne.

Following a ballot, the Council elected to its Board of Directors:

Dr Jules Catt, new Director elected by Council, term ending November 2018.

Following a nomination process due to members' appointments expiring, the Council welcomed five new members:

- Mr Philip Truskett, nominee of the Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges (CPMC) appointed to Council by Directors for a four-year term ending November 2021;
- Associate Professor Abdul Khalid, member of a State and Territory Board of the Medical Board of Australia appointed to Council by Directors for a four-year term ending November 2021:
- Mr Fergus Leicester, Consumer member appointed to Council by Directors for a fouryear term ending November 2021;
- Ms Eileen Jerga AM, Consumer member appointed to Council by Directors for a fouryear term ending November 2021;
- Mr Bhavi Ravindran, Medical Student in Basic or Pre-Professional appointed to Council by Directors for a two-year term ending November 2019.

The Directors reappointed Dr Iain Dunlop, following renomination by the Australian Medical Association (AMA) for a further four-year term ending November 2021.

The Directors reappointed Professor Lisa Jackson-Pulver AM, following renomination by Universities Australia (UA) for a further four-year term ending November 2021.

The Council acknowledged the generous contribution of those members whose term ended in 2017 and formally thanked them for their work.

The Council also made a number of minor amendments to its Constitution that reflect its decision for the CEO to no longer be a Director of the company.

For any queries please contact Karin Oldfield, Company Secretary on 02 62709722