

COMMUNIQUE

Australian Medical Council 2020 Elections

The Australian Medical Council is pleased to announce the election of Professor Kate Leslie AO FAHMS as President of the Council and Professor Geoff McColl as Deputy President at its Annual General Meeting held on 20 November 2020.

Professor Leslie said she is looking forward to leading the Council over the next two years in what will be an interesting and challenging time.

"The COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted our business and placed unprecedented demands on our staff, contributors and those we assess and accredit.

"Yet through these difficulties the AMC has continued its strong focus on innovation and striving for excellence, including developing an online clinical exam which is on track to commence in February 2021, establishing a partnership with the Australian Digital Health Agency on a new project aimed at understanding how technology impacts the standards of medical education, training and practice in Australia, and continuing work on the development of a new two-year prevocational (PGY1 and PGY2) framework.

"I believe the AMC needs to continue to nurture its productive relationships with its key stakeholders and ensure that programs across all sectors of the medical education, training and CPD pipeline reflect international best practice and the needs of the community, despite COVID-19 constraints.

"We must also stay focused on enriching the role of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and Māori within the AMC, to promote participation in medical education and training and to improve health and social outcomes for indigenous peoples.

"Good governance is vital to protect the AMC during the current pandemic and to ensure we continue to be well prepared and are able to meet both challenges and opportunities in the future."

Professor Leslie succeeds Professor David Ellwood who stepped down from his work with the AMC to focus on his many roles in the health sector, including as Medical Dean at Griffith University. Professor Leslie, on behalf of the AMC Directors, Members and staff, thanked Professor Ellwood for his 17 years of distinguished service to the AMC.

On his appointment as Deputy President, Professor Geoff McColl said he was pleased to work with the President, Directors and staff of the AMC to achieve the organisation's strategic and operational objectives.

Professor McColl said he feels strongly aligned to the mission and values of the AMC and the importance of its work and influence. As Deputy President he is keen to assist the AMC navigate through a time of change while continuing to achieve its outcomes.

Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM, Professor Eleanor Milligan and Dr Bruce Mugford were re-elected as Directors of the AMC for a further term.

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) is an independent national standards body for medical education. Its purpose is to ensure that standards of education, training and assessment of the medical profession promote and protect the health of the Australian community. It is currently appointed under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 as the external accreditation authority for medicine. In this capacity it is responsible for setting standards for medical education and training at medical school, intern and specialist medical training stages. It accredits programs and providers in all these stages of basic medical education (medical courses), intern training and specialist medical education and training leading to registration.

Professor Kate Leslie AO FAHMS President, AMC



Professor Leslie has a long association with the AMC commencing as a Member of the Council's Specialist Education Accreditation Committee (SEAC) in 2010 and being appointed Chair of SEAC since 2015. In this role she participated in the review of the accreditation standards for specialist medical programs and continuing professional development programs and participated in several SEAC accreditation teams including ACSEP, RACMA, RANZCOG (chair) and RANZCO (chair).

She has also been an AMC Council Member since 2011, an AMC Director since 2013 and Deputy President since 2018. In that time

she was a member of the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee for three years and led several Board working groups undertaking reviews of the Constitution, Board composition and AMC's committees.

Professor Leslie is Specialist Anaesthetist and Head of Research at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, an Honorary Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Medical School, University of Melbourne, and an Honorary Adjunct Professor, School of Population Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University.

Professor Geoff McColl Deputy President, AMC



Professor McColl is Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine, at the University of Queensland. He is also a Director of UQ Health Care and a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Professor Geoff McColl served as a member of the AMC's Medical School Advisory Committee (MedSAC) since 2012. He was appointed as the Committee Chair and an AMC Director in 2016.

Professor McColl's involvement with the AMC has included membership of the Expert Advisory Panel on Assessment (2010-2015) and the National Test Centre Research Group (2014-2018).

He was also involved in several accreditation teams including as Chair for the University of Newcastle/University of New England Medical School in 2014 and 2016 and a member of the University of Western Australia team in 2012.

Enquiries: Mr Philip Pigou, CEO P 02 6270 9704 | M 0439 844 447

philip.pigou@amc.org.au