

General Information for Nominees

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) is an independent national standards body for medical education. Its purpose is to ensure that standards of education, training and assessment of the medical profession promote and protect the health of the Australian community.

The AMC is governed by its Directors and operates per its Constitution (which can be found here). It is a Company Limited by Guarantee, subject to the Corporations Act. It is currently appointed under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 as the external accreditation authority for medicine. In this capacity, the AMC is responsible for setting standards for medical education and training at medical school, intern and specialist medical training stages. It accredits programs and providers in all the stages of primary medical education (medical courses), intern training, and specialist medical education and training leading to registration. The AMC also assesses non-specialist International Medical Graduates (IMGs) leading to general registration and facilitates the assessment of overseas trained specialists by the relevant Specialist Medical Colleges.

The AMC's standing committees and working parties provide support and advice to the Directors and the Council. Additionally, the AMC Secretariat, based primarily in Canberra, supports the functions of the AMC. With the assistance of funding from Health Workforce Australia, the AMC has developed its own National Test Centre (NTC) - in Melbourne, where many AMC staff are located - predominantly to increase the availability of the structured clinical examinations for International Medical Graduates.

Committee Membership

The Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Committee members will be appointed by the AMC Directors, and will include:

- i. At least six members of the AMC
- ii. Two Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander or Māori community members
- iii. One representative of the Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA), nominated by that organisation
- iv. One representative of the Leaders in Indigenous Medical Education (LIME) Network, nominated by that organisation
- v. One representative of the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO), nominated by that organisation
- vi. One representative of the Te Ohu Rata o Aotearoa Māori Medical Practitioners Association (Te ORA), nominated by that organisation.

Associate Professor Suzanne Pitama was appointed as the committee's Chair at the Annual General Meeting in November 2019 and is now ex officio a Director of the AMC.

Secretariat Support

The Secretariat supports Committee Members with any queries about processes, procedures or papers, and in arranging travel and accommodation for meetings.

Other Opportunities

Committee members may have the opportunity to serve as members of other committees, working parties and assessment teams of the AMC. The time commitments and responsibilities for these depend on the nature of the role.

Fees, Travel and Accommodation

The AMC meets the cost of required travel, accommodation, meals, and incidental expenditure, i.e. taxi fares. Travel and accommodation will be organised by the AMC Secretariat, as required.

The AMC will pay committee members a daily sitting fee. (Note that in cases where the member is a State or Commonwealth public servant, payment of sitting fees will need to be discussed to ensure this is in line with State and Commonwealth legislation).