## **AMC Welcomes New Office Bearers and Directors**

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) Annual General Meeting in Launceston on 30 November 2018 has marked the appointment of a new President and Deputy President of the AMC. Professor David Ellwood was welcomed as the new AMC President and Professor Kate Leslie AO FAHMS as the new Deputy President.

Professor Ellwood is the Dean of Medicine and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Griffith University School of Medicine, and Director of Maternal-Fetal Medicine at Gold Coast University Hospital. He has been an AMC Director since 2011 and the Deputy President since 2015. His involvement with the AMC, which began over 15 years ago, has included being an AMC examiner in the discipline of Obstetrics and Gynaecology; member and Chair of several accreditation teams covering basic medical education and specialty education and training; and Chair of the Medical School Accreditation Committee from 2010 to 2017.

Professor Ellwood looks forward to the AMC increasing its engagement with the medical profession as a whole, broadening the scope of influence by increasing AMC outputs in research, and 'to working closely with AMC Directors, members and staff to ensure that the core components of our strategic plan are achieved.' In accepting the role as the President of the AMC, Professor Ellwood said he is 'looking forward with great enthusiasm to taking on the challenges of this vital position.'

Professor Kate Leslie AO FAHMS is a specialist anaesthetist and researcher at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, University of Melbourne and Monash University. She has been an AMC Director since 2013 and the Chair of the Specialist Education Accreditation Committee since 2016. Professor Leslie has participated in Medical Board of Australia (MBA) working groups on International Medical Graduate assessment and is currently the chair of the MBA's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Working Group. Professor Leslie is particularly interested in ensuring good governance of the AMC, through mentorship and continuing development of directors, working with all sectors of the medical education, training and CPD pipeline to ensure that programs reflect international best practice and the needs of the community. Professor Leslie is also keen to develop the role of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and Māori within the governance structures of the AMC, to promote participation in medical education and training and to improve health and social outcomes for indigenous peoples.

Professor Ellwood has paid tribute to his predecessor Associate Professor Jill Sewell AM for her many years of service to the AMC, and particularly for her leadership as President since 2015. As well as overseeing the development and implementation of the AMC's new *Strategic Plan 2018 to 2028*, Associate Professor Sewell has had a significant role in the development of a more visible and effective strategy for the AMC to engage with Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori health organisations, students, medical practitioners and medical educators across its accreditation, standard setting, policy and assessment functions to support the AMC purpose. The presentation to members of the AMC's Reconciliation Action Plan was considered by Associate Professor Sewell to be one of her 'proudest achievements' as President.

The members also elected three Directors including Professor Eleanor Milligan, Dr Bruce Mugford and Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM.

Professor Eleanor Milligan is currently the Deputy Dean Clinical Education (Griffith Health), Chair of the Griffith University Human Research Ethics Committee and Professor of Ethics and Professional Practice for the School of Medicine at Griffith. As a community member on the Council, Professor Milligan has been reappointed as AMC Director for a further two-year term. Professor Milligan is looking to 'continue the essential work of Council and Directors and provide continuity of leadership as we implement our new strategic plan and strengthen our national leadership in the changing accreditation environment.'

Dr Bruce Mugford has been a practitioner member of the Council since 2014. Dr Mugford has a longstanding interest in junior doctor training, including pioneering community-based intern training positions in South Australia. He was a key participant in the initial research that underpins the introduction of the Pre-vocational General Practice Placement Program and the development of rural training hubs. As a Rural Generalist in Emergency Medicine he supports the development of this pathway and its linkages with the community, universities and GP training and specialist services.

Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM is currently the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Indigenous Strategy and Services at the University of Sydney. As the Universities Australia nominee on the Council, Professor Jackson Pulver has played a significant role in the work of the AMC for a number of years. Since 2016 she has been a member of the Assessment Committee, the Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Strategy Group and several accreditation teams. Professor Jackson Pulver is a visionary educator and researcher who 'loves translating academic and other knowledge into practice.'

## The AMC Directors are:

- Professor David Ellwood
- Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM
- Professor Eleanor Milligan
- Dr Bruce Mugford

The chairs of the AMC Standing Committees and ex officio AMC Directors are:

- Professor Kate Leslie AO FAHMS (Specialist Education Accreditation Committee)
- Professor Geoff McColl (Medical School Accreditation Committee)
- Emeritus Professor David Prideaux (Assessment Committee)
- Dr Andrew Singer AM (Prevocational Standards Accreditation Committee).

The members also acknowledged the important achievements for 2018 including the development of the AMC Strategic Plan 2018 to 2028 that defines the AMC priorities for the next 12 to 18 months as:

- Building our knowledge of community health need and how medical education and training is meeting that need
- Engagement with partners and stakeholders
- Developing policy, in alignment with changes approved by the COAG Health Ministers, for improvements to medical intern training
- Implementing our Reconciliation Action Plan
- Undertaking evaluation and research to help us determine how accreditation standards affect health outcomes for Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori people
- Developing ethical standards and accreditation standards covering the use of technology and Artificial Intelligence in medical education and training
- Building the sustainability of the AMC's National Test Centre in Melbourne through continuing to provide systems and capability to deliver best practice assessment

Contact: Ms Karin Oldfield, Company Secretary, Australian Medical Council, 02 6270 9722

## December 2018