Standard Pathway

The Standard Pathway is generally for non-specialist international medical graduates (IMGs) seeking general registration in Australia who do not qualify for the Competent Authority Pathway.

Under this pathway, the AMC conducts two alternative processes leading to the AMC Certificate:

  • Standard Pathway (AMC examinations). Assessment is by examination only—the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and the AMC Clinical Examination. Most non-specialist applicants will be assessed through this method.
  • Standard Pathway (workplace-based assessment). Assessment is by examination and workplace-based assessment—the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and workplace-based assessment of clinical skills and knowledge by an AMC-accredited authority. Currently assessment programs in four states have been accredited to pilot workplace-based assessment programs. As a result, relatively few applicants are assessed through this pathway.

You must pass the AMC CAT MCQ Examination—a computer adaptive multiple-choice question examination that tests knowledge of the principles and practice of medicine—before you can be assessed for the clinical component through either the AMC Clinical Examination or through workplace-based assessment by an AMC-accredited authority.

Workplace-based assessment has limited availability: it is still being developed and is available at only six sites as part of a pilot program.

The AMC also verifies the primary qualification of IMGs through the ECFMG International Credentials Services (EICS). EICS verification is mandated under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 (National Law) for all IMGs seeking registration in any category in Australia.


You can apply for eligibility to be assessed under the Standard Pathway if you meet the following requirements:

  • You completed the requirements for the award of your primary qualification at a training institution listed in the International Medical Education Directory (IMED) of the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER).
  • You were issued with a final or provisional primary qualification by your training institution.

IMED (FAIMER) lists international medical schools that are recognised by the appropriate government agency in the countries where they are located.

Check that your training institution is listed on IMED (FAIMER).

Process summary

Your training institution is listed on IMED FAIMER website for your primary medical qualification---Do you have an AMC candidate number?---If yes, Complete Standard Pathway application form---If no, apply online or complete Standard Pathway application form---Complete, sign and witness the Standard Pathway application form and all supporting documents as listed in the checklist---The AMC assesses your application---Primary medical qualification sent to ECFMG for EICS verification---Receive an email to confirm the outcome of your assessment---Apply, schedule and pass AMC CAT MCQ examination---Apply, schedule and pass either the clinical examination or workplace-based assessment---Be issued with an AMC certificate

Assessment process

When you apply to the Australian Medical Council (AMC) for a determination of your eligibility for the Standard Pathway, the AMC:

  • assesses your application and supporting documentation to ensure that you have met all proof of identity, certification and other requirements
  • arranges for primary source verification of your primary medical qualification by the ECFMG International Credentials Service (EICS).

If the AMC determines that you are eligible to proceed through the Standard Pathway, you must first sit for and pass the AMC CAT MCQ Examination. Once you have passed the AMC CAT MCQ Examination, you can apply to sit for the AMC Clinical Examination or, subject to obtaining a suitable position with an accredited employer, undertake workplace-based assessment.

If you pass all assessment components, provide all required documentation as stipulated and have your qualifications verified through the EICS process, the AMC will issue the AMC Certificate to you. You need the AMC Certificate to apply to the Medical Board of Australia for general registration.

How to apply

Download the step-by-step guide on how to apply to the AMC for assessment for eligibility to proceed with the AMC examinations process, including EICS verification (PDF 348KB). It applies to all applicants for assessment through the Standard Pathway.

Applying to the Australian Medical Council (PDF 2.4MB)
AMC examinations (Standard Pathway)
EICS verification
Medical Board of Australia
Workplace-based assessment (Standard Pathway)

Last Updated on Monday, 27 February 2012 16:38
Australian Medical Council