

#### MEDIA RELEASE November 2004

## **Three New Medical Schools To Be Established**

# EMBARGOED UNTIL 930AM MONDAY 29 NOVEMBER 2004

### Three New Medical Schools For Australia

Australia will get three new medical schools producing an extra 225 doctors per year by 2010, the Australian Medical Council (AMC) announced today.

The three new medical schools are:

- Bond University at the Gold Coast (to be Australia's first private university medical school, with an initial intake of 65 students)
- Griffith University at the Gold Coast (with an initial intake of 80 students) and
- University of Notre Dame in Western Australia (to be Australia's first private Catholic medical school with an initial intake of 80 students)

The AMC also announced that it had re-accredited the continuing courses of six existing medical schools around Australia and New Zealand. AMC accreditation is mandatory for all university medical schools, which must meet explicit accreditation standards. The accreditation process involves detailed analysis of the proposed curriculum and medical school resources, rigorous review of clinical training opportunities and visits from clinical and community based assessment teams.

The President of the AMC, Dr Joanna Flynn, said the decisions reflected major changes in medical education in Australia and New Zealand.

"The accreditation process demonstrates that there is increasing diversity and better collaboration and integration of medical education in Australia," Dr Flynn said.

General trends identified through the 2004 accreditation process include a greater focus on student directed learning, increased breadth of clinical experience beginning from first year and more emphasis on communication skills training.

Only two new medical schools have been established in Australia in the last 25 years, but there are now three new schools planning to enrol students from 2005.

The rapid development of the three new medical schools reflects the successful collaboration and exchange of expertise between Australian universities. The new courses have drawn on the existing curricula of three established AMC-accredited medical schools – Sydney, Flinders and Queensland Universities.

The Federal Government will provide HECS funded places to Griffith and Notre Dame Universities. Bond University will be self-funding. The Bond University course is a five-year undergraduate course, and Griffith and Notre Dame are each four-year graduate entry courses.

The six existing medical schools in Australia and New Zealand to be accredited as part of the ongoing cycle of accreditation by the AMC are:

- Australian National University
- Flinders University
- Monash University (accredited to introduce a new five year course)
- University of Otago
- University of New South Wales
- University of Western Australia (Graduate entry program)

Details of the accreditation reports and recommendations are available on the AMC website at <u>www.amc.org.au</u>.

### Further information: Nicole Newton M: 0407 998 611 Tel: 03 9459 3500