Standard Pathway

The Standard Pathway is for international medical graduates (IMGs) seeking general registration with the Medical Board of Australia (the Board) and involves completion of the written examination (CAT MCQ) and the structured clinical examination of the Australian Medical Council (AMC) or approved workplace based assessment program.

Process summary

Flowchart showing the steps involved in the AMC's standard pathway

How to apply

To establish an AMC portfolio, click here.

To submit your medical qualification(s) to ECMFG for EPIC verification, click here.


The Standard Pathway is for IMGs who are not eligible for the Competent Authority Pathway or the Specialist Pathway.

IMGs who have a primary qualification in medicine and surgery awarded by a training institution listed in the current International Medical Education Directory (IMED) of the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER), can apply for assessment under this pathway.

The Standard Pathway has two alternative processes leading to the award of the AMC Certificate:

  • Standard Pathway (AMC examinations) - Assessment is by examination only—the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and the AMC Clinical Examination. Most non-specialist applicants will be assessed through this method.
  • Standard Pathway (workplace-based assessment) - Assessment is by examination and workplace-based assessment—the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and workplace-based assessment of clinical skills and knowledge by an AMC-accredited authority. Currently assessment programs in four states have been accredited to pilot workplace-based assessment. As a result, relatively few applicants are assessed through this pathway.

IMGs on the standard pathway must successfully complete a 12 month period of supervised practice (minimum of 47 weeks full time service) in an approved position.

Primary source verification

Part of the Standard Pathway process, through the AMC, is the primary source verification of an IMG’s primary qualifications through the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG).

Before applying for the Standard Pathway, IMGs must apply for primary source verification of their qualifications:

Applications submitted by 30 September 2015

The AMC will process qualifications submitted as part of either the Standard Pathway or Primary Source Verification applications to ECFMG for EICS verification.

Applications submitted from 1 October 2015

IMGs are required to submit medical qualifications directly to ECFMG’s Electronic Portfolio of International Credentials (EPIC) for verification, but also complete an AMC online application to establish an AMC portfolio.

Learn more about primary source verification.

Medical registration

The AMC has no role in processing applications for registration or in granting registration, which is a function of the Board, the registration authority of Australia.