Notification on the AMC Clinical examination scoring

The Australian Medical Council (AMC) Directors have recently approved the removal of the compulsory station passing requirement from the AMC Clinical Examination.

The compulsory station passing requirement previously required at least one pass in a Child Health station and one pass in a Women's Health station to pass the overall clinical examination. This will no longer be a requirement.

Women's Health and Child Health stations will remain part of the examination with candidates still rotating through a series of 20 stations and undertaking a variety of clinical tasks. The 20 stations will be comprised of 14 scored stations, 2 pilot (non-scored) stations, and 4 rest (non-scored) stations. The 4 non-scored rest stations allow candidates an opportunity to have a break at predetermined intervals.

As with the AMC Multiple-Choice-Question (MCQ) examination and pilot questions, the clinical examination pilot stations will not be identified to candidates during the examination.

The new policy is effective from examinations commencing in February 2018.

In summary the new Clinical examination scoring model from the February 2018 examinations will be as follows:

CLEAR PASS = 11/14

RETEST = 10/14 OR 9/14

FAIL = 8 or less/14

* No requirement to pass at least one Child Health or Women's Health station.

* There will be 4 rest stations

The current clinical retest examination standard will remain as 6/8 stations for a PASS. No pilot stations will be used in the retest examination.

Results published on the AMC Website

From the commencement of examinations in 2018, the AMC will use its best endeavours to have results for all clinical examinations available on the AMC website at 5:00pm on the Friday two weeks following your examination. Candidate results letters and feedback will also be forwarded on this day. Where it is necessary to delay notification of results a notice will be placed on the AMC website.

Results on the AMC website are shown by candidate reference number in order to comply with Australian Privacy Legislation (Commonwealth). The results will remain on the website for approximately four weeks. Should you have any questions, please contact the AMC Clinical team at