Clinical examination format

You will rotate through a series of 20 stations—four stations are rest stations—and will undertake a variety of clinical tasks. All candidates in a clinical examination session will be assessed against the same stations. The four rest stations give you an opportunity to have a break between the scored stations.

Each station will be of 10 minutes duration (8 minutes for the actual assessment and 2 minutes for the changeover and reading of the written information for the next station). Stations may use actual patients, standardised patients or role-playing patients (where possible, appropriately aged individuals are used as role-playing patients). You should regard the role-playing patients as real patients and treat them accordingly.

Stations assess clinical skills in medicine, surgery, paediatrics, obstetrics, gynaecology, general practice and psychiatry. Scoring will be structured, with individual aspects of each station specified under the following broad headings:

  • history
  • physical examination
  • investigations
  • diagnosis/differential diagnosis
  • therapeutics/management
  • counselling/patient education
  • clinical procedures.

The structured clinical assessments will make use of examiners from all disciplines.

From May 2014, the AMC has introduced a new format mark sheet and for examinations conducted at the AMC Vernon C. Marshall National Test Centre in Melbourne, the AMC will be introducing the use of electronic ‘tablet technology’ on which examiners will be required to complete the mark sheets. The introduction of these initiatives represents an exciting new stage for the AMC in the evolution of its examinations and presents new opportunities to enable the Council to further improve the way in which the AMC Clinical Examination is conducted, and provide more informative feedback to candidates.

Please note: whilst there has been a change to the mark sheets, the overall basis of awarding a candidate a Pass or Fail for each case will remain. There will be no change in the way in which cases will be run, and candidates will continue to be required to pass twelve (12) out of the sixteen (16) examination stations in order to pass the examination.