AMC Member and Committee Opportunities

The AMC operates in accordance with the Constitution which sets out the terms of formation, membership, chair, term of office and quorum for the Council and its committees.

The members of the AMC are appointed according to the Constitution and are drawn from a wide cross-section of the groups associated with medical education, health delivery and with the standards of medical practice in Australia. The Members have the ultimate right to determine the future of the AMC and have responsibility for the appointment and removal of AMC Directors.

There are five AMC Standing Committees: Medical School Accreditation Committee, the Prevocational Standards Accreditation Committee, Specialist Education Accreditation Committee, the Assessment Committee and the Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Committee.

The full AMC Constitution is available here.

The following vacancies currently exist for AMC Council Members and for AMC Committees:

Chair, Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori Committee

The AMC is seeking to appoint a Chair of the Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Committee, a newly-established standing committee under the AMC’s Constitution. The Chair will be ex officio a Director of the AMC. The Chair of the Committee must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person or Māori, should possess strong leadership skills and committee experience, have sound knowledge of or experience in the areas of health, training and education that are regularly considered by the AMC and that relate to Indigenous health, and have good community standing.

Download the Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Chair nomination information here:

  • Expressions of Interest flyer
  • General Information
  • Nomination Form
  • Terms of Reference

  • Please note applications close COB Friday 6 September 2019.